April 13, 2024
Sri Lanka

Sri Lankan Cricket

What is Cricket?

Cricket is a game played between two teams consists of 11 players in each side. It is a single combat that an individual bater play or battles against a single bowler, who has helpers as fielders.

Brief Description of Origin of Cricket:- Cricket was established in England in the 18th century and globally spread around the world on 19th and 20th centuries. In early time it is a game played by children in countryside. But now, by the time it has been moderated and expanded via world.

Arrival of Cricket to Sri Lanka :- Cricket was introduced to Sri Lanka by the British as a result of colonization.

Sri Lankan Cricket

With the current time Cricket has become the most popular sport in Sri Lanka. The controlling body of Cricket in Sri Lanka is Board for Cricket Control in Sri Lanka. Sri Lankan Cricket is also known as the first registered national sport in Ministry of Sports. Sri Lankan Cricket oversees the progress of the competitions and the tournaments. And now Sri Lanka has the ability to organize a tournament within the country among provinces and districts such as LPL. Sri Lankan Cricket is a full member of International Crickert Council. Both the Sri Lankan National Team and Sri Lankan Women’s Cricket Team are first class in Sri Lanka.

Sri Lankan Cricket Team

This is the national cricket team in Sri Lanka. Sri Lanka played their first international cricket in 1926. However after many years 1996 was the most memorable year for Sri Lankan Cricket history. It was the greatest moment of Sri Lanka which won the World Cup by Defeating Australia under the leadership of Mr. Arjuna Ranathunga. The game style of Sri Lankan Cricket was marked as aggressive batting after that. They got many victories. Such as,
ICC Championship Trophy in 2007 – Runners up .
ICC World Cup 2009 – Runners up.
Sri Lankan Cricket currently holds several victories and world records in the all three forms of games, test, ODI and T20.

Sri Lankan Women’s Cricket

The Sri Lankan Women’s Cricket Team is the team that represents the country in International women’s cricket matches. Their international debut was in 1997 against Netherlands with 3 ODI matche series. Since then they represent cricket tournaments.

Cricket Stadiums in Sri Lanka

  • Hambanthota Cricket Stadium
  • Pallekele Cricket Stadium
  • R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
  • Colombo Cricket Club Ground, Colombo
  • Galle International Stadium, Galle
  • Paikiasothy Saravanamuttu Stadium
  • Sinhalese Sports Club Ground (SSC Ground), Colombo
  • Tyronne Fernando Stadium, Moratuwa
  • Asgiriya Stadium, Kandy
  • Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium, Dambulla.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *